Home | Basketball | IBCA Marion Crawley Award Winner

IBCA Marion Crawley Award Winner

Ben Curran was awarded a Marion Crawley Award Scholarship by the Indiana Basketball Coaches Association (IBCA).

Forty-two Indiana high school seniors have been presented 2015 scholarship awards from the IBCA, it was announced Tuesday (May 5).

The IBCA — a statewide coaches group with more than 2,600 members — presents grants of $750 to each recipient in the names of Marion Crawley, Junior Mannies and Pat Aikman. Through the years, the IBCA has awarded more than $603,000 in scholarships to Indiana students.

A total of 37 Crawley Scholarships were presented to a variety of boys players (18), girls players (15) and student managers (four). Criteria for the Crawley Scholarship includes achievement in basketball, achievement in academics, participation in extracurricular activities and service to one’s school and community. A list of the 2015 winners is below.

Crawley was a former four-time boys basketball state championship coach — two with the Washington Hatchets and two with the Lafayette Jeff Bronchos — who amassed 644 career wins. He later became the first executive director of the IBCA.


Boys Players: Student, School, Coach

Austin Alles, Jasper, John Goebel

Matthew Anjorin, Andrean, Scott Hicko

Max Clifford, Roncalli, Michael Wantz

Ben Curran, Switzerland County, Adam Dennis

Jacob DeBoer, Covenant Christian (Demotte), John Heerema

Noah Hoek, Covenant Christian (Demotte), John Heerema

Cody Howell, Tri-Central, Kyle Zahn

Jason Kikkert, Covenant Christian (Demotte), John Heerema

Brandon Koch, East Central, David Disbro

Mark Martin, North Knox, Aaron Hall

Josh Mullens, North Judson, Phil Shabi

J.J. Myers, Shenandoah, Mike King

Ian Nicholson, Hamilton Heights, Chad Ballenger

Nate Nolting, Columbus East, Brent Chitty

Owen Randolph, North Montgomery, Joel Grindle

Wyatt Schebler, Batesville, Aaron Garrett

Ryan Seim, Hauser, Bob Nobbe

Ben Sellers, Evansville Mater Dei, Kurt Wildeman


Girls Players: Student, School, Coach

Janna Beer, Leo, Carrie Shappell

Macy Burton, Knightstown, John Boyer

Megan Farney, Evansville Mater Dei, Steve Goans

Rebekah Feist, Eastern (Pekin), Michael McBride

Kaleigh Folland, Fremont, Neal Frantz

Debie Gedeon, Columbus North, Pat McKee

Hannah Griffey, Union (Modoc), Drew Moore

Micah Kimball, Shenandoah, Chelsea Kilian

Hannah Lins, Covenant Christian (Demotte), Dave Heerema

Taylor Miller, Northridge, Doug Springer

Maddie Moser, Oak Hill, Todd Law

Kaley Rose, Evansville North, Annette Combs

Sheyanne Street, Columbus North, Pat McKee

Carly Waggoner, Vincennes Rivet, Tim Young

Lily Wisniewski, Crown Point, Annie Equihua


Student Managers: Student, School, Coach

Kevin Auman, John Glenn, Travis Hannah

Kasey Cross, Tri-West, Adam Bontreger

Shayla Parris, Union (Modoc), Drew Moore

Madi Turley, Westfield, Eric Rauch



Congratulations Ben!

About Coach Dennis

Coach Dennis has been a varsity assistant for nine years and it has been the most successful nine-year period in the school history. Coach Dennis commands respect by the person he is.

Check Also

Football Team Improvement Continues

Check out the links below to see the latest happenings within the Football Program Pacers …